Friday, January 20, 2012

J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award

An archival advocacy award - the perfect SAA award for the Reference, Access and Outreach Section!

Established in 1989, this award honors an individual, institution, or organization that promotes greater public awareness, appreciation, or support of archival activities or programs. Note that nominees must be from outside the archives profession. Individuals directly involved in archival work, either as paid or volunteer staff, or institutions or organizations directly responsible for an archival program are not eligible for this award.

The individual's or institution’s contributions may take the form of:

  • advocacy,

  • publicity,

  • legislation,

  • financial support,

  • or a similar action that fosters archival work or raises public consciousness of the importance of archival work.
Contributions should have broad, long-term impact at the regional level or beyond. Up to three awards may be given each year.

This award is named in honor of historian J. Franklin Jameson, who labored for more than 25 years to establish the U.S. National Archives.
For more details, see the SAA Awards Competition webpage, which includes the nomination form, and the J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award page (includes list of previous winners) in the SAA Handbook.

All nominations shall be submitted to SAA by February 28 of each year. Send 6 copies of the completed form (including an documentation) to:

J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award Subcommitte
Society of American Archivists
17 North State Street, Suite 1425
Chicago IL 60602-4061

Questions? Contact the Chair of the J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award Subcommittee, which this year is Lynn Eaton of Duke University.